Just Because You Can’t See Something Doesn’t Mean It’s Not There.


While sitting at the desk with nothing to do, I was thinking about how quiet, and boring it was. The doors opened and I looked to see who was entering. I was sitting in my usual place, and I watched the exterior doors close, and then the internal doors closed right after. I never saw anyone actually walk in. Sometimes that happens. I always assume it is due to a stray cat walking past the outdoor sensors, or something like that. I decided to ignore it. Then I heard a voice… “Hello? I need help.” I looked all around for a person, but I couldn’t see anyone. I felt silly responding to disembodied voice, so I just sat there feeling confused. “I know you can hear me. You’re sitting right there.” He said. I have spent the last few months researching local ghost stories for a short story I am working on, and to suddenly hear a voice coming from someone unseen was a bit alarming. “Hey asshole, look over the desk.” I stood up and saw a very short man standing there, looking at me with a giant grin on his face. “Hey buddy! I bet you were confused, huh?” I chuckled as soon as I saw him.

“How can I help you?”

“My car died in the McDonald’s parking-lot and my phone is dead. I tried asking the kids at McDonald’s to call AAA for me, but they won’t let me in the building. They told me only the drive-thru is open. Those assholes wouldn’t even make a phone call for me. I had to walk all the way here. How about some help?”

I called AAA for him and handed him the phone so he could talk to them. After his call, I walked outside with him. He was about to walk back to McDonald’s when a taxi pulled up to drop off a guest. I offered the driver $5 to drop the guy off at his car. He took the money and they left.

One thought on “Just Because You Can’t See Something Doesn’t Mean It’s Not There.

Leave a Reply

