Everything Is Bigger In Texas, Including Shitty Attitudes, And The False Sense Of Entitlement. Also, I’m A Yankee Piece Of Shit.


I was checking-in a walk-in guest, when the people staying in room 309 decided to walk by the desk to go outside to smoke. When they passed my desk, I politely asked them to not be so loud in the hallways. Apparently that was the wrong thing to do, because they became visibly annoyed with me, and whole time they were standing outside, they kept making the front doors slide open so they could shout random noises into the lobby. When they returned, the man whose name is in the reservation came to me, drunk, and disgruntled, and started arguing with me. First he approached me in that calm, cool manner that guys have when they want to approach someone, thinking that they are being the better person. The man towers over me, and could knock me out with one good swing.

“Good evening sir, how are you today?” In his drunk Texas accent.

“I’m well.” You clearly have some shit to say. How about you cut the fake polite attitude, because the look on your face says you want a fight.

He continued his false, calm, tone; still pretending to be the better man, but really he was waiting for me to deny any wrong doing on my part so he could argue.

“I just want to talk to you, man to man. You’re okay with that, right?…” He’s still pretending to keep his cool, but he really wants to yell at me. His tone, his eyes, and body language say it all… “I just want to tell you, that what you did was inappropriate. You could have politely asked us not to be loud in the hallways, but instead, you decided to call me out in front of a hotel full of people. Now let me ask you this, sir, man to man. Do you think you were right, to do that?”

Man to man means he is insecure with himself, and needs to squeeze out some extra testosterone in order to make himself feel better about his insecurities. Settling something man to man also means…

I want to pretend to talk reasonably with you, but really, I want you to give me an excuse to get physically violent, and I want you to make me believe that my violence can be justified based on how you respond to me.”

I was honest with him.

“Yes. I was right. I had every right to ask you not to shout in the hallways, and when I asked you not to shout, there was only two people in the lobby, and not a hotel full of people in the lobby. Both of them commented on how loud you were being. I was very polite, when I said…“Please try to keep your voices down when you are in the hallways…” As the Night Manager, I am expected to ask you to be quieter.”

“Well. Let me tell you something. You might find this appropriate here in New York, but in Texas, if you spoke to me like that, I would have kicked your fucking ass!”

This is where the finger-pointing started. All he needed was for me to stand my ground for his tone to change.

“That sounded like a threat to me. Please don’t threaten me.”

The man started chuckling, because he knew that his words weren’t a direct threat, but instead those words were meant to intimidate me, and he worded his sentence in a way that allows him to deny making a direct threat.

“That wasn’t a threat, I was just saying that in Texas, we don’t tolerate that sort of talk, and I would have to beat the shit out of you for it.”

“You clearly want me to feel intimidated, and you know very well, that what you are saying is meant to make me feel threatened, while allowing you deniability. Stop that right now.”

The man continued grinning at me, while denying that what he said was meant for intimidation.

“I want you to look me dead in the eye, and tell me that what you did was right.”

“What I did was not only right, it was expected of me, and I did my job by asking you politely, to please be quieter.”

“I am gonna complain to corporate about this, you understand that, right?”

“You are more than welcome to do so. My name is Michael.” I pointed to my name tag.

“Oh, don’t you worry, Michael. I will be doing that. Before I go, I want to tell you, fuck you! (putting his middle finger in my face) Seriously, fuck you, and fuck your mother for having you!” (Sorry Mom. I know you read this, but please know that you are the best mother anyone could ask for, and that guy is a big jerk-face.)

“Are you done?”

“Am I done? Fuck you, you Yankee fuck! If we were in Texas, I would be mopping the floor with the blood pouring from your face! You can count on me contacting corporate. Your job is gone, asshole!”

“Okay, remember my name is Michael. They will want my name, so make sure you get that correct. Is there anything else I can do for you?

“Before I go, I want to reiterate… Fuck you!” (with his middle finger in my face again.)

“Well, great. Have a good night, sleep well, and I’ll be right here if you happen to need any extra towels, or a blanket. Sweet dreams.”

His company then grabbed him, and pulled him away as he kept shouting… “Fuck you, you fucking Yankee piece of shit!”

I heard the guy continue shouting while the elevator was going up. He was telling his friends not to worry, because I couldn’t possibly know what room they were in. (Room 309) They are the only guests staying in the hotel with a Texas address, plus when he mentioned corporate, I assumed he was a rewards member, and looked him up. He is the only guest staying at the hotel using his rewards points to pay for the stay, who also is from Texas.

The man is staying for one more night. I already wrote an email to my boss about the issue, and I included that if he approaches me in that way again, I will call the police, and have him removed from the property, which is completely within my rights to do. He probably is going to complain to corporate. He is the highest level a member can be in our rewards club. People with that level tend to have a strong sense of entitlement, and they almost always get nasty about it. He will definitely approach management later, and attempt to make a stronger case against me, and it isn’t likely that his complaint will include his threatening tone, and all of the insults he threw at me about my mother. I also guarantee he will not include that he was very intoxicated at the time, and that he was over-reacting, and attempting to make me feel threatened.

One thought on “Everything Is Bigger In Texas, Including Shitty Attitudes, And The False Sense Of Entitlement. Also, I’m A Yankee Piece Of Shit.

Leave a Reply

