Confusing Reservations And IBS.


Work is usually slow, and quiet. Sure, I get a few extra check-ins every now and then, but for the most part, things have been quiet, and slow. Today when I clocked-in there were 8 arrivals who hadn’t shown up yet. Isn’t it just my luck that every time someone showed up to check-in, I received a phone call from someone wanting a more detailed discussion than I could offer them at that moment, forcing me to put them on hold, resulting in pissing them off more than they were when they dialed. Lucky for me, the arrivals were understanding about the slightly extra amount of time it took to check them in.

At 12:45 a guest showed up. The phone rang at the same time. I answered the call. It was a woman from my arrivals list, and her flight just landed.

“I’m checking-in tonight, and my plane just landed, do you have a shuttle available?”

Well, this sucks. I checked the logs when I clocked in. We have no record of any shuttle. I asked her to let me put her on hold so I could get the man in front of me, out of the way. Suddenly, three more people arrived, and I had to check them in, answer all their questions, while leaving a woman on hold in the airport, who I’m sure was getting frustrated. I took all of the current arrivals names, and just started the check-in process, for all of them. I skipped a few steps, but the reservations were made by their employer, making the payment guaranteed, no matter if the guest has a valid card, or not. I just handed them the papers to sign, checked them all in at once, and handed them keys. They were all filling out their papers when I responded to the call.

“Hello, ma’am. I’m sorry for the wait. Unfortunately we need to be notified 24 hours in advance to have a shuttle ready. I am not seeing any record of a shuttle for today.”

“When I made the reservation I asked the woman, and she told me there would be a shuttle available.”

“I’m very sorry for this misunderstanding. I know it is inconvenient, but there is nothing here showing a shuttle is needed. I’m sorry, but I don’t have an available driver on the property.”

“I guess I will have to take a cab then.”

“Yes, that is going to be the only option.”

“I do have a room there, right?”

I checked the arrivals list. The name she gave me was right there. I opened it for details.

“Yes, I see your name right here.”

“Well, then I guess I will find a cab.”

The woman hung up. I was annoyed, and wasn’t looking forward to a face to face with her. The guests in front of me finished filling out their papers, and I handed them keys.

The woman from the phone arrived at 1:20am. Her driver carried in her luggage. He had a glum expression on his face.

“She’s pissed at you.” said the driver. He left immediately.

The woman walked in, and snapped at me.

“What are you planning to do about this?”

“ I am very sorry this happened. I looked at your reservation, and it looks like you made the reservation through the corporate website. Did you call the 1-800 number to talk to one of our online agents?”

“No. I made the reservation on the website, but I called here and talked to a girl before that. She told me you have the shuttle.”

I immediately understood what happened.

“OK, well what I think happened is this, when you called here, the lady who you spoke to probably did tell you there is a shuttle, but since you didn’t make the reservation with her, she wouldn’t have scheduled it. When you made the reservation online, we were never given information stating that your arrival will require the shuttle.”

“I only asked about the shuttle. She never asked when I was showing up.”

“And that is where things got confusing. Our website does not guarantee 24 hour shuttles, but it also doesn’t say anything about them having to be scheduled in advance.”

She was still frustrated, but I could see that she understood what I was saying. While completing the check-in, I changed the subject, and asked where she’s from. Kentucky, but she moved from Alaska a year ago. She is here to pick up her grand-kids, and take them to Kentucky for the summer. I asked her what the cab cost her, and reimbursed her for it. She told me not to worry about it, but it doesn’t cost me anything. The hotel pays for it, and she will be less likely to give us a poor review.

I know Luna usually shows up by 5am. At 5:30 she still didn’t arrive. I made sure coffee was started, and put out the cold foods, just to make sure something was available for early risers. The maintenance guy walked in. Luna has every Tuesday off this month, and he is covering her shift. I watched him pick up the coffee pumps that I put in the kitchen. I never emptied them, thinking Luna was working, I wanted to make her do it.

“These still feel warm.” He says, and carries them back to the dining room.

“Uh… you’re going to serve Luna’s day old coffee?”

“Why not? Nobody will know the difference.”

“They will all notice the difference. Those things only guarantee to keep coffee hot for 8 hours. It’s been nearly 24 hours since that was made.”

I watched him pull out all of the serving trays filled with yesterdays eggs, and sausage. The trays were full of water from yesterdays breakfast, and all the fat from yesterdays sausage was still floating around in the nasty, milky white water. He put the tray directly into the microwave.

“I always throw away anything Luna leaves in the fridge.” I said.

“It’s OK, I’ll heat it up extra hot.”

He did the same thing with the tray of omelets that were also left over from yesterdays breakfast.

I hope everyone enjoys their breakfast today, with a side of IBS.

One thought on “Confusing Reservations And IBS.

Leave a Reply

