Luna Forgot What Day It Is


October 22, 2015

I have had a great night at work. The hotel sold out. I completed my audit, and had all of my reports emailed, and filed by 12:30 this morning. The only thing left for me to do was deliver the bills, and have coffee made by 4:00. I would like to point out that it is Thursday morning. Luna has Wednesday and Thursday off every week, which is why I stay at work for an extra four hours to cover breakfast. I would like to say again, today is Thursday.

I waited until 3:45 to deliver the bills; it took me fifteen minutes. When I made it back to the first floor, I could hear someone fumbling with the coffee pumps in the pantry. Nobody should be in there so I hurried over to see what was going on. I discovered Luna making coffee, and prepping breakfast; she looked very tired. I was about to ask her why she was at work, but she spoke before I could get a word out.
“What are you doing here? You don’t work on Fridays. I don’t want to see you.” Luna said. Did she just say Friday? She thinks today is Friday.
“Today is Th….” I was trying to say Thursday, but Luna cut me off.
“Just shut up. I don’t want us talking to each other. Just leave me alone.” She insisted. Sounds good to me. Let’s see how this plays out.
I let her work on breakfast, and made my way back to the desk where I saw the shuttle log opened, and left on the counter. There is a shuttle scheduled for a park and fly on Friday morning at 4:30. Park and fly is when people pay to leave their cars at the hotel and use the shuttle to get to and from the airport. I looked at the key lock box and Luna already grabbed the van key. I cannot properly express how happy I was that this was happening. I felt like the universe was pulling a big prank on Luna, and all I had to do was sit back, and let it happen.

By 4:15, Luna had the van ready, and was on her way to pick up some people from the airport who are not going to be there. I patiently waited for something to happen. There were a few guests who came down early, looking for coffee, and I made sure to offer them breakfast. By 4:40 Luna was calling the hotel from the van.
“I am waiting for my passengers, but I think their plane is running late. I need you to cover breakfast until I get back.” She said.
“Not a problem.” I said, and then I hung up the phone.

At 5:30 Luna called again.
“Did anyone call looking for me?” She asked.
“Nope. I have not gotten any calls from anyone looking for you.” I said.
“Can you please check in the book to make sure that I have the correct flight?” She asked. Don’t you mean correct date?
I pretended to look at the book.
“I don’t see any information in the book about today.” I said, with a cheesy grin on my face.
“I know it is today, I made sure when I clocked in…” She paused for a second. “I think I forgot to clock in.” BWAAA HA HA HA HA!
“I really don’t see anything for this morning. In fact, there aren’t any shuttles scheduled for today.” I said. I wasn’t lying.
“I know that you are lying to me. I think there is a problem with the flight. I am coming back to the hotel. If the people call looking for me before I get back, please call me on my cell phone.” She said.
“Will do.” I replied, and hung up the phone again.
While I was waiting for Luna to return, I noticed a guest getting himself some coffee. Instead of the man taking coffee from one of the bottom three coffee pumps, he went for the two on the top level. The pumps on top are to replace the pumps below them, when they become empty. I always chuckle a bit when see people go to the upper coffee pumps. They seem to think that coffee is going to be the most fresh compared to the lower level ones, but they were all made at the same time. All of the coffee is the same.

Luna got back to the hotel at 5:45, and immediately demanded that I give her the shuttle log.
“Let me see the book. I will show you that the information is there. I am not stupid.”She said. You kinda are.
I handed her the book, and watched her open it to the Friday page. Luna pointed right at it, then she looked at me.
“See? There it is, right there. There must be a delay with the flight.” She said. I’m pretty sure the delay is in your brain.
I took one of the newspapers that we have available for guests, and put it right in front of her.
“Go ahead and look at this paper, and tell me what you see.” I said. I even pointed my index finger directly at today’s date.
Luna examined the front page, and looked at me with confusion.
“I don’t know what the headlines have to do with any of this.” She said with a scolding tone.
I took a pen, and circled the date on the newspaper. Luna stared at it for a moment, and then blurted out a loud sigh, and then started yelling at me in Spanish. I have no clue what she was saying to me, but she sounded pissed. I started laughing.
“I told you there wasn’t anything scheduled for today.” I said, still laughing.
“Why did you let me go all the way to the airport? She asked.
“I tried telling you that today is Thursday, but you cut me off, and told me to shut up, and you didn’t want me talking to you.” I reminded her. I started laughing some more.
Luna just stood in front of the desk, looking at me in disbelief for a moment, then she spoke.
“I might as well stay and do the breakfast, since I am already here.” She said.
“I can’t let you do that, Luna. I am scheduled for the breakfast shift today, and if you do it instead, then you will be cutting me out of the hours that I need to make my work week 40 hours. I cannot let you take hours away from me.” I said.
“You let me go through all that! Now you are telling me that I have to go home?” she said.
“You can stay if you want. I don’t have the authority to make you leave. I am just not going to let you take my hours from me.” I said.
Luna turned red. She looked at me with rage in her eyes. I could feel the hatred radiating from her pores. I waved my hands in front of her. “Goodbye Luna. Have a great day off. Thank you for setting up breakfast for me.” I said, continuing to grin at her.
Luna scowled at me, and walked back out the door. This has been the best day at work ever!

Leave a Reply

