Luna Hopes For My Death


October 18, 2015 4:00am
Luna walked into the hotel this morning while I was making myself a cup of coffee that I didn’t need, but still wanted. “Good morning Luna,” I said cheerfully. Luna ignored me as if I was not there. “I said good morning Luna,” I repeated, but she just walked into the kitchen. “How rude.” I followed her into the kitchen. “I need to remind you that you have to drive a shuttle this morning at 4:45,” I said. Luna still refused to acknowledge my words, and my presence. “You know Luna, it is obvious that you have a very deep hatred of me. You make sure everyone that we work with knows that you hate me. Did you know that you confuse them? They always ask me why you always have horrible things to say about me, and then they want to know why you hate me so much. I just tell them that you refuse to tell me why you hate me so much, and that it makes no sense.” Luna stopped, and looked me right in the eyes for the first time since she began her unexplained journey into the deep abyss that is her hatred of me.

“The reason that I hate you is personal, and it is none of your business. I do not have to explain myself to you. I hate you, and that is all that there is to it. All that you need to understand is that I hate you, I will always hate you, and there is nothing that you can do to change this… I have no desire to ever like you, and I prefer to hate you. Just get used to it. I hate you, and this is going to be the way that it has to be from now on, so stop asking me why I hate you. “You and your Atheist God can go fuck yourselves.” She suggested.

“I am confident that you still don’t know what Atheism is,” I said. “It means I don’t believe in God. I know that we have discussed this before.”

“Stop talking to me.” She said.

“I like your haircut. Did you get it cut this weekend?” I asked. Luna looked at me with disgust.

“Stop talking to me.” She repeated.

“It makes you look a bit younger,” I said. Luna pointed a finger in my face.

“I said, stop talking to me.” She said, almost with authority.

“Younger by about a month. You look a month younger than you did the last time that I saw you.” I said.

“I don’t believe you.” She scolded.

“Have you lost weight? You look a bit thinner.” I said. Luna scowled at me. “I’ve gotten a bit chubbier, myself. Hey, what’s your secret?” I asked.

“I have no secrets. Now stop talking to me.” She insisted.

“Well, that’s not true. You refuse to tell me a legitimate reason for hating me. That makes it a secret, so clearly you do have secrets.” I said, giving her the smile that gets her blood boiling.

“I hope that you die, on your way home from work today.” She said. Wow! We just hit a whole new level of hate.

“I hope you are showered with many colored flower petals, rainbows, and sunshine for the remainder of your days,” I said with the same smile. Luna shook her head in disgust. I walked back to my desk, and as I walked away, I started singing the chorus to You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling.

Leave a Reply

