Do You Understand What Sold Out Means?


A man walked in. I smiled at him, and he started the conversation by saying “Don’t tell me you are sold out or I will be pissed.”

“I hate the idea of pissing you off, but unfortunately we are sold-out.” He got pissed.

“What does that mean?” He said.

“We are sold out. There is no more availability.” I replied. He looked me in the eyes and said, in his most stern big-man-in-charge tone.

“I have been to three hotels so far, and everyone says they are sold out.”

“That is because they are sold out.” I informed him.

“Are you being funny?” He asked.

“No.” I said. “All the hotels in the area are just sold out.” He paused for a short moment.

“Why?” he asked.

“Because people are renting all of those rooms.” That was me being funny. He didn’t see the humor. My smile didn’t help encourage laughter from him either.

“Listen, I have been driving all day, and I need to sleep.”

“I don’t have any rooms available”

“Well, how about you find me one.” He suggested.

“You mean like calling other hotels and ask about availability? Everything in the area is sold out.”

“No!” He was almost shouting. “I mean here. Find me a room.” Clearly he doesn’t understand what sold out means. I randomly typed on the keyboard. I made a fake surprise face and said…

“Well look at that!  We do have a room available.” His eyes brightened right up.

“Good, ” he said.

“I’m just kidding, we are still sold out.” I said with another smile. “I do wish I could help you, but it is impossible. Please accept that we are sold out.” We stared at each other for a moment.  “Please leave.”

He looked at me for what felt like an eternity; it was kind of intense. I could see him trying to figure out what to do next. He just turned and walked out the door. That made me so happy because I really had to pee and didn’t want to hold it any longer.

Leave a Reply

