Batmoth


I was just startled by the sound of a lady screaming as if she was witnessing something horrific. She was screaming over and over. The main doors opened and I saw an older black woman running in screaming “AHHHH! AHHHH! AHHHH!” Right behind her was a dark colored moth that was about the size of the palm of my hand. She cried out. “AHHHH! It’s a bat! Get it off me! Get it off me!” And she continued screaming as it fluttered its way through the lobby, and down a hallway. I tried to calm her down. Mostly I tried not laughing at her. “Ma’am, the moth is gone. You can relax now.” She yelled at me. “Oh no that was a bat!” I said “Actually it was a moth, and it is harmless. You are not in any danger I promise.” She was not convinced. “Oh hell no! That was a baby bat and it wanted me for breakfast!” I couldn’t not chuckle at that. I got a bottle of water out of the cooler and gave it to her. “Here have some water on us. It’s OK now. You have nothing to worry about. I assure you.” She took the water and started drinking it. Then she took some more deep breaths as she tried to calm down. “That thing was big.” She said. I just smiled at her. I said “Will you be OK enough to make it to your room?” The moth returned from down the hallway and re-entered the lobby. She freaked out again. “AHHHHH! AHHHH! AHHHH! There it is! Get it out! Get it out of here! AHHHHHHHHH!” This just went from hysterical to pathetic, but still a bit hysterical. I said. “Please stop screaming you are going to scare the guests.” She was freaking out and here eyes were bulging out of her face. I cupped my hands around the moth after a few missed attempts and I walked it outside and let it go. She said. “Oh my Lord Jesus that scared me.” I smiled and said. “Don’t let the long hair and beard fool you. My name is actually Michael. She actually laughed at that. “Oh Michael. You are a funny man. I cannot believe you actually touched that thing.” I just said. “Yeah, I will wash my hands. Are you relaxed?” She was breathing more easily now. “Yes thank you Michael.” She sat in the lobby and told me about her niece who just graduated from school, and that’s why she’s in town. She was getting her car packed so she could hit the road early. Then she had that run in with the “Batmoth”.

Leave a Reply

